Jennifer Conti » Welcome

Welcome

 
    
Welcome to the Schilling Farms Gifted Services Page
About Me
My name is Jennifer Conti.  I am the APEX/Gifted Differentiation Coach for Schilling Farms Elementary School.  I am so excited to be a part of this amazing experience of beginning a new school.  I have been a teacher for 15 years, most of which was spent in upper elementary grades.  I worked for Memphis City Schools before moving to Collierville Schools when the district opened.  In addition to upper elementary experience, I have also taught English as a Second Language in both elementary  and high school, but my real passion is teaching and developing curriculum for intellectually gifted students.
Background
I am originally born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where most of my family still lives.  I moved to the Memphis area over 20 years ago when my husband was transferred for his job.  Both of our children were born here.  We moved to Collierville 4 years ago when I started working for the Collierville School District.  I am a proponent of teaching in the community where I live and where my children go to school.  I couldn't have asked for a better place for both of those things than Collierville. 
I am married and have 2 children.  My son attends West Collierville Middle School and is in 6th grade.  My daughter attends Schilling Farms and is in 2nd grade.  My husband is an operations manager for a company that repairs laptop computers here in Memphis.  We live in Collierville along with our 2 dogs, Lulu and Lennon and our 2 cats Puss and Panka. Before I became a teacher I worked for a veterinarian, which explains the zoo at my house.
Education
I have a bachelor's degree in education from the University of Memphis and a Master's Degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.  Additionally, I have certifications in English as a Second Language from the University of Memphis, and the Tennessee Employment Standard in Gifted Education from Vanderbilt University. 
Hobbies
When I am not working I love to read, spend time with my family, and cook.  I love learning and trying new things.  My family enjoys spending time at the beach.  Although, with two kids, we are always running from one activity to another.